Friday, 28 January 2011

The 42 FCs (Hampshire)

Welcome to Totton.

The English league pyramid's apex (the pointy bit at the top) is the FA Premiership. From there, working downwards, come the three divisions of the Football League (Championship, League One and League Two). If you like, you can call them Steps 1-4. After these divisions, what is known as "non-league" begins. There is one national division, known as the Conference (Step 5), then regionalisation comes into being, with Conference North and South at Step 6. These two leagues have their own even more geographically precise feeder leagues, and so it goes on down the leagues, each division becoming more and more compacted into smaller and smaller areas.

My aim, over the next three years or so, is to watch a match at every ground in Hampshire at every level from Step 10 upwards. What follows is a list of all the clubs that are currently involved in my plan, with links to their respective leagues' fixture lists. This is correct for the 2010-11 season - the list is likely to change as clubs drop out or are promoted from even lower leagues.

Fixtures for the top four divisions can be found via any half-decent British newspaper's sports pages.

Step 1. Premiership

2. Championship

3. League One

4. League Two
Aldershot Town

5. Conference

6. Conference South
Basingstoke Town
Havant & Waterlooville

7. Southern League Premier Division

8. Southern League Division One South & West
Gosport Borough
AFC Totton
8. Isthmian League First Division South
Fleet Town

9. Wessex League Premier Division
Alresford Town
Alton Town
Blackfield & Langley
Fareham Town
AFC Fawley
Hamble ASSC
Hayling United
Lymington Town
New Milton Town
Romsey Town
Totton & Eling
Winchester City
9. Combined Counties Premier Division

10. Wessex League First Division
Andover New Street
Fleet Spurs
Hythe & Dibden
Petersfield Town
AFC Portchester
Ringwood Town
Tadley Calleva
US Portsmouth
Whitchurch United
10. Combined Counties First Division
Farnborough North End
Hartley Wintney

Below these leagues are the county leagues and, well, I have to stop somewhere, so I'll give them a miss for the time being.

Next - the first match report!

No comments:

Post a Comment